Research on Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander Health Workshop

  • Day 1: Feb. 13, 2024, 12:00 – 5:00 p.m. ET
  • Day 2: Feb. 14, 2024, 1:00 – 5:00 p.m. ET

Workshop will be held virtually.

Register

The Research on Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander (NHPI) Health Workshop will gather researchers, subject matter experts, and advocates for NHPI health to identify:

  1. Critical health outcomes, topics and needs affecting NHPI communities.
  2. Current gaps in knowledge and research efforts concerning NHPI health outcomes.
  3. Future opportunities for research into promoting NHPI health to reduce health disparities.

Please let us know of any requests for special accommodations by completing that field in the registration form.

Agenda

Day 1: Tuesday, Feb. 13

Times are listed in Eastern Standard Time and Hawai'i Standard Time.
You can convert the times using the Time Difference Calculator.

EST: 12:00 p.m. – 12:30 p.m.
HST: 7:00 a.m. – 7:30 a.m.

Land Acknowledgement and Opening Protocol
Keawe Kaholokula, Ph.D., University of Hawai'i at Mānoa, Workshop Co-Chair
Michael S. Spencer, Ph.D., M.S.S.W., University of Washington, Workshop Co-Chair

Welcome Remarks and Overview
Gabriel Lai, Ph.D., NIMHD

NIH Welcome Remarks
Eliseo J. Pérez-Stable, M.D., NIMHD Director

Co-Chair Welcome Remarks
Keawe Kaholokula, Ph.D., University of Hawai'i at Mānoa
Michael S. Spencer, Ph.D., M.S.S.W., University of Washington

EST: 12:30 p.m. – 1:25 p.m.
HST: 7:30 a.m. – 8:25 a.m.

Keynote: Tofa Saili: Seeking Wisdom through Pasifika Lenses
Nia Aitaoto, Ph.D., National Association of Pasifika Organizations

Keynote: Ke Alaula - Light a New Day
B. Puni Kekauoha, Kula no na Po’e Hawaii o Papakolea, Kewalo, Kalawahine

Keynote: I Hinanao-ta: The Stories We Carry
Paige Castro-Reyes, Community–Campus Partnerships for Health

Session #1: Determinants of NHPI Health
Moderator: Angela Fernandez, Ph.D., M.P.H., LCSW, NIMHD
EST: 1:25 p.m. – 1:55 p.m.
HST: 8:25 a.m. – 8:55 a.m.

Move Upstream: Determinants of Health for Native Hawaiians and Pacific Islanders
Noreen Mokuau, D.S.W., University of Hawai'i at Mānoa

Indigenizing the Purpose of Collecting of SDOH Data for Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islanders
Raynald Samoa, M.D., City of Hope

Proposed Determinants to Guide Research in the Samoan Population
Vaatausili “Va’a” Tofaeono, M.B.A., American Samoa Community Cancer Coalition (ASCCC)

EST: 1:55 p.m. – 2:40 p.m.
HST: 8:55 a.m. – 9:40 a.m.

Discussion
Moderator: Keawe Kaholokula, Ph.D., University of Hawai'i at Mānoa

  • Discussants:
  • Noreen Mokuau, D.S.W., University of Hawai'i at Mānoa
  • Raynald Samoa, M.D., City of Hope
  • Vaatausili “Va’a” Tofaeono, M.B.A., ASCCC
  • Jonathan “Tana” S. Lepule, Pacific Islander Collective San Diego
  • Andrew Subica, Ph.D., University of California Riverside
  • Justina P. Tavanā, Ph.D., M.B.A., Brigham Young University

EST: 2:40 p.m. – 2:50 p.m.
HST: 9:40 a.m. – 9:50 a.m.

Break
Session #2: Mechanisms and Processes of Health Outcomes
Moderator: LCDR Adelaida M. Rosario, Ph.D., Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
EST: 2:50 p.m. – 3:20 p.m.
HST: 9:50 a.m. – 10:20 a.m.

Psychosocial and Behavioral Processes of Health and Wellness: Determining the Right Path
Christina Holub, Ph.D., M.P.H., California State University San Marcos

Investigating the Biological Basis of Health Disparities in Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander Populations to Enable Prevention
Alika K. Maunakea, Ph.D., University of Hawai'i at Mānoa

Mechanisms to Understanding Cancer Disparities in Native Hawaiians: The Multiethnic Cohort Study
Sung-shim (Lani) Park, Ph.D., M.P.H., University of Hawai'i Cancer Center

EST: 3:20 p.m. – 4:05 p.m.
HST: 10:20 a.m. – 11:05 a.m.

Discussion
Moderator: Michael S. Spencer, Ph.D., M.S.S.W., University of Washington

Discussants:
  • Christina Holub, Ph.D., M.P.H., California State University San Marcos
  • Alika K. Maunakea, Ph.D., University of Hawai'i at Mānoa
  • Sung-shim (Lani) Park, Ph.D., M.P.H., University of Hawai'i Cancer Center
  • Kalani L. Raphael, M.D., M.S., University of Utah and VA Salt Lake City Health Care System
  • Sheldon Riklon, M.D., University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences
  • Tetine Sentell, Ph.D., Office of Public Health Studies, University of Hawai'i at Mānoa
EST: 4:05 p.m. – 4:10 p.m.
HST: 11:05 a.m. – 11:10 a.m.

Transition Break

Breakout Discussion Sessions
EST: 4:10 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
HST: 11:10 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Group 1: Determinants and Processes of Health Outcomes
  • Moderators:
  • Gabriel Lai, Ph.D., NIMHD
  • Somdat Mahabir, Ph.D., M.S., M.P.H., National Cancer Institute
  • Shilpa H. Amin, M.D., M.BSc., M.J., FAAFP, NIMHD
Group 2: Methodologic Approaches/Tools
  • Moderators:
  • Keawe Kaholokula, Ph.D., M.S.S.W., University of Washington
  • Angela Fernandez, Ph.D., M.P.H., LCSW, NIMHD
  • Arundhati Gogineni, Ph.D., LCSW-C, NIMHD
Group 3: Cultural Interventions
  • Moderators:
  • Michael S. Spencer, Ph.D., M.S.S.W., University of Washington
  • Rina Das, Ph.D., NIMHD
  • Carlos O. Garrido, Ph.D., M.S., M.P.H., NIMHD
EST: 5:00 p.m.
HST: 12:00 p.m.
Adjourn

Day 2: Wednesday, Feb. 14

Times are listed in Eastern Standard Time and Hawai'i Standard Time.
You can convert the times using the Time Difference Calculator.

EST: 1:00 p.m. – 1:30 p.m.
HST: 8:00 a.m. – 8:30 a.m.

Day Two Introduction and Report-Out From Breakout Sessions
Keawe Kaholokula, Ph.D., University of Hawai'i at Mānoa, Workshop Co-Chair
Michael S. Spencer, Ph.D., M.S.S.W., University of Washington, Workshop Co-Chair

Session #3: Methodologic Approaches/Tools for NHPI Health
Moderator: Arundhati Gogineni, Ph.D., LCSW-C, NIMHD
EST: 1:30 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.
HST: 8:30 a.m. – 9:00 a.m.
Adapting Research Methods and Processes for NHPI Communities
Richard Calvin Chang, J.D., M.S., UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander Data Policy Lab
Best Practices for Study Design and Implementation With NHPI Community Partners
Clemma J. Muller, Ph.D., M.S., Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine, Washington State University
Developing and Validating Culturally Appropriate Measures of Health and Resilience in Native Hawaiian Communities
Mapuana C.K. Antonio, Dr.P.H., Native Hawaiian & Indigenous Health, Office of Public Health Studies, University of Hawai'i at Mānoa
EST: 2:00 p.m. – 2:45 p.m.
HST: 9:00 a.m. – 9:45 a.m.

Discussion
Moderator: Keawe Kaholokula, Ph.D., University of Hawai'i at Mānoa

Discussants:
  • Richard Calvin Chang, J.D., M.S., UCLA Center for Health Policy Research, Native Hawaiian and Pacific Islander Data Policy Lab
  • Clemma J. Muller, Ph.D., M.S., Elson S. Floyd College of Medicine, Washington State University
  • Mapuana C.K. Antonio, Dr.P.H., Native Hawaiian & Indigenous Health, Office of Public Health Studies, University of Hawai'i at Mānoa

  • Reya Mokiao, M.D., M.S., University of Washington and Seattle Children’s Hospital
  • Joey Quenga, Island City Media Group
EST: 2:45 p.m. - 2:55 p.m.
HST: 9:45 a.m. - 9:55 a.m.

Break

Session #4: Cultural Interventions to Improve NHPI Health
Moderator: Carlos O. Garrido, Ph.D., M.S., M.P.H., NIMHD
EST: 2:55 p.m. - 3:25 p.m.
HST: 9:55 a.m. – 10:25 a.m.

Children’s Healthy Living (CHL) Center of Excellence in the U.S.-Affiliated Pacific
Rachel Novotny, Ph.D., RDN, LDN, FASN, University of Hawai'i at Mānoa

An Overview of Culturally-Focused Interventions for Native Hawaiians and Pacific Islanders
Scott K. Okamoto, Ph.D., LSW, University of Hawai'i Cancer Center

Intervention Research to Improve Health Equity: A Moʻolelo
Marjorie K. Leimomi Mau, M.D., M.S., M.A.C.P., University of Hawai'i at Mānoa

EST: 3:25 p.m. – 4:10 p.m.
HST: 10:25 a.m. – 11:10 a.m.

Discussion
Moderator: Michael S. Spencer, Ph.D., M.S.S.W., University of Washington

Discussants:
  • Rachel Novotny, Ph.D., RDN, LDN, FASN, University of Hawai'i at Mānoa
  • Scott K. Okamoto, Ph.D., LSW, University of Hawai'i Cancer Center
  • Marjorie K. Leimomi Mau, M.D., M.S., M.A.C.P, University of Hawai'i at Mānoa
  • John Ray Taitano II, M.B.A., Health Consultants Pacific
  • Philmar Mendoza-Kabua, M.S.N., B.S.N., RN, UAMS Community Health & Research
  • Jane Chung-Do, Dr.P.H., University of Hawai'i at Mānoa
Workshop Wrap and Conclusion
EST: 4:10 p.m. - 5:00 p.m.
HST: 11:10 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
Panel Discussion on Overarching Questions Moderators:
  • Keawe Kaholokula, Ph.D., University of Hawai'i at Mānoa
  • Michael S. Spencer, Ph.D., M.S.S.W., University of Washington
Summary and Closeout
  • Gabriel Lai, Ph.D., NIMHD
  • Keawe Kaholokula, Ph.D., University of Hawai'i at Mānoa
  • Michael S. Spencer, Ph.D., M.S.S.W., University of Washington
EST: 5:00 p.m.
HST: 12:00 p.m.
Adjourn


Workshop Co-Chairs:

  • Keawe Kaholokula, Ph.D., Department of Native Hawaiian Health, John A. Burns School of Medicine, University of Hawai'i at Mānoa
  • Michael S. Spencer, Ph.D., M.S.S.W., Professor and Ballmer Endowed Dean in Social Work, University of Washington School of Social Work

Planning Committee:

  • Keawe Kaholokula, Ph.D., University of Hawai'i at Mānoa
  • Michael S. Spencer, Ph.D., M.S.S.W., University of Washington
  • Rina Das, Ph.D., NIMHD
  • Seema N. Desai, Ph.D., NIMHD
  • Angela Fernandez, Ph.D., M.P.H., LCSW, NIMHD
  • Carlos O. Garrido, Ph.D., M.S., M.P.H., NIMHD
  • Arundhati Gogineni, Ph.D., LCSW-C, NIMHD
  • Gabriel Lai, Ph.D., NIMHD
  • Phuong-Tu Le, NIMHD
  • Somdat Mahabir, Ph.D., M.S., M.P.H., NCI
  • Montessa M. Mitchell, Ph.D., NIH Office of the Director
  • LCDR Adelaida M. Rosario, Ph.D., Office of the Surgeon General, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services

Planning Committee NIH Institutes and Centers:

Page updated Feb. 13, 2024  |  published Feb. 5, 2024